Housing

Resource Assistance for Youth, Inc.

There are numerous barriers preventing young people from finding safe, affordable and adequate housing, including: Lack of housing stock, no rental history or willing co-signer, lack of employment, inadequate EIA rates and mental illness to name a few.

RaY also understands that living independently requires life skills and that youth need support as they learn how to become good tenants. RaY guides youth in their search for housing and can provide resources and supports until they are self-sufficient.

Housing Department

The Housing Department connects youth with affordable and suitable permanent housing, while also providing tenancy and life skills support. Each youth is provided with a case manager who supports them in meeting their long-term housing goals. The Housing Department maintains strong working relationships with Winnipeg rental management agencies and landlords to provide youth with access to safe, affordable and permanent housing despite low vacancy rates for low-income housing.

When:

Monday – Friday: By Appointment Only: (form/email)

Housing Services:
  • Eviction Prevention
  • Advocacy
  • Assistance finding and maintaining apartments
  • Bed bug prevention
  • EIA advocacy
  • Manitoba Housing advocacy/application
  • Assistance with rental applications
  • Budgeting
  • Tenancy skills
  • Furniture and housewares
Who:

Any youth under the age of 29 that requires assistance in finding or maintaining housing.

Contact:
Kerri Scott: kscott@rayinc.ca
Talia Potash: tpotash@rayinc.ca
Ayla Banks: abanks@rayinc.ca
Apryl Aisaican: aaisaican@rayinc.ca
Rianne Still: rstill@rayinc.ca
Devin Bray: dbray@rayinc.ca
Raven Boulanger: rboulanger@rayinc.ca
Skye McKenzie: smckenzie@rayinc.ca
Tamara De Luca: tde_luca@rayinc.ca
204-783-5617 ext 202

Resources:

 

Make a donation today and help RaY provide resources to Winnipeg’s street youth.